Tags

,

Something here does not seem exactly right.

Elijah Ticknor (or Tickner) wrote his will on the ninth day of April in 1813.  It begins in the usual way for many wills of that time: “In the name of God, amen. I, Elijah Tickner of the town of Canaan, county of Columbia and state of New York, being weak of body but of sound mind and perfect memory . . .” blah blah blah.  

Findagrave and other sources state that Elijah and his wife Zilpha are buried in the Columbia Dutch Reformed Church Cemetery at Columbia Center, Herkimer Co.

I freely admit that I am no expert when it comes to the geography of the state of New York.  However, when I look at the map, it appears that Columbia County and Herkimer County are not exactly cheek by jowl to each other.  Further, our old pal Google informs me that Canaan, Columbia Co. and Columbia Center, Herkimer Co. are 115 miles apart.

Am I to believe that, in 1813, a resident of Canaan, Columbia Co., would be buried over a hundred miles away when the whole family lived in the immediate vicinity of Canaan?  Really?